National Dance Awards logoDavid Mead

The Dance Section of the UK Critics’ Circle has announced the nominations for the 14th National Dance Awards, which cover the October 2012 to September 2013 season.

The Awards are effectively the British dance Oscars (or maybe that should be BAFTA’s). There was a time when they used to be almost exclusively focused on ballet and contemporary dance. But reflecting the rise in popularity among dancegoers, things are changing. Last year, it was the turn of hip hop to come to the fore, while this year’s nominees include no fewer than three from the highly successful Flamenco Season presented by Sadler’s Wells.

London in particular is very much a hub for dance from all over the world, and this year’s nominations reflect that international flavour. All four Outstanding Company nominees come from overseas for the first time, and more than half of all nominations honour overseas companies or dancers based overseas.

The short-listed comes from a long list of over 250 dancers, choreographers and companies nominated by the UK’s professional dance critics and writers, and so already very much represents the elite of 2013.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at The Place at the end of January.

The Nominations 

Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer

Dane Hurst (Rambert Dance Company)
Vadim Muntagirov (English National Ballet)
Sergei Polunin (Moscow Stanislavsky Ballet and guest artist, The Royal Ballet)
Edward Watson (The Royal Ballet)

Grishko Award for Best Female Dancer

Maria Kochetkova (San Francisco Ballet)
Natalia Osipova (Mikhailovsky Ballet and guest artist, The Royal Ballet & Bolshoi Ballet)
Olga Smirnova (Bolshoi Ballet)
Eva Yerbabuena (Ballet Flamenco Eva Yerbabuena)

Stef Stefanou Award for Outstanding Company

Boston Ballet
Mikhailovsky Ballet
San Francisco Ballet

Best Classical Choreography

Mark Morris (‘Beaux’ for San Francisco Ballet)
David Nixon (‘The Great Gatsby’ for Northern Ballet)
Alexei Ratmansky (‘24 Preludes’ for The Royal Ballet)
Christopher Wheeldon (‘Aeternum’ for The Royal Ballet)

Best Modern Choreography

Guilherme Botelho (‘Sideways Rain’ for Alias)
Matthew Bourne (‘Sleeping Beauty’ for New Adventures)
Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (‘Puz/zle’ for Eastman)
Russell Maliphant (‘Fallen’ for BalletBoyz, The Talent)

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)

Nancy Osbaldeston (for The Ballerina in ‘Petrushka’ for English National Ballet)
Cira Robinson (in ‘War Letters’ for Ballet Black)
Akane Takada (for Olga in ‘Onegin’ for The Royal Ballet)
Yuan Yuan Tan (in ‘RAkU’ for San Francisco Ballet)

Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)

Jeffrey Cirio (in ‘Plan to B’ for Boston Ballet)
Israel Galván (for Flamenco Performances at Sadler’s Wells)
Nicolas le Riche (in ‘Le jeune homme et la mort’ for English National Ballet)
Brian Maloney (for Bratfisch in ‘Mayerling’ for The Royal Ballet)

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)

Julie Cunningham (in ‘New Works 2012’ for Michael Clark Company)
Rocío Molina (in ‘Danzaora’ at Sadler’s Wells)
Clemmie Sveaas (in ‘Witch-Hunt’ for Bern Ballett)
Hannah Vassallo (for Aurora in ‘Sleeping Beauty’ for New Adventures)

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)

Nathan Goodman (in ‘Madcap’ for Richard Alston Dance Company)
Christopher Marney (Count Lilac in ‘Sleeping Beauty’ for New Adventures)
Liam Riddick (in ‘Buzzing Round the Hunisuccle’ for Richard Alston Dance Company)
Paul WHITE (in ‘The Oracle’ for Meryl Tankard)

Best Independent Company 

BalletBoyz, The Talent
New Movement Collective
Shobana Jeyasingh Dance